top of page
  • Writer's pictureAPU Times

STUDYING IN GRADUATE SCHOOL, WHAT IT FEELS LIKE

Updated: Apr 22, 2020

by Stephanie Allen P.

For some of us, APU is the connecting door towards our dreams, be it international or maybe in Japan. You may currently be an undergraduate student, but perhaps you have wondered what learning in Graduate school feels like? Answering this question, we are looking into one of our graduating alumni Nguyen Hu Phu Gia, also well known as Boro, and his life as a graduate student. He graduated Fall 2018 from APU with a major in International relations (IR). Currently, he is taking an MPhil (master’s in philosophy) in International Relations, University of Oxford. Please do keep in mind that this interview only covers general information regarding graduate.


Why do you choose graduate school instead of a job?

I enjoy being a student and being around curious individuals even if they are from other disciplines. It is also because of the passion for a subject, knowledge, and knowledge building is not something you can find very often outside of academia. I decided that I was still partial towards that environment and it only made sense that I continued being a student (in graduate school).


Is there any particular reason why you chose oxford? Is it because of reputation?

Reputation is part of it. It is supposedly the best political department in the world. Second, The MPhil degree in International relations itself is also well known to prepare their students for possible future career paths in academia (researcher, et cetera). Lastly, my current supervisor is someone who I particularly wanted to work with for my research.

What does graduate school feels like?

You are constantly surrounded by an environment where everyone feels like they are on top of their game. You`ll feel like you are always behind, but eventually one learns that it is the status quo.

What are you currently doing right now?

I`m currently finishing my application for Ph.D. and should hear back from the different departments in spring

What are your “Ups” in graduate school?

I enjoy that everyone is rigorously enjoying with knowledge. Even if you don’t share the same interest, being in such a community is a really motivating experience.

Do you have any “Downs” in graduate school?

Graduate school can be quite an isolating experience. In a way that because your previous mental and emotional support system (friends, community et cetera) are hardly transferable. Especially when you are studying a major that does not necessarily appeal to a lot of people. The things that I`m doing now is also something that hardly anyone in my previous social group has ever gone through. I do not know of anyone who is or has gone through the exact same process. As a result, it is really hard to seek support when you are facing stress.


How have you overcome your downs? Are you fine now?

Yeah, I’m fine now. It goes better with time as you continue doing it. Because with time, you start making new social groups where you are at.

What things do you wish you had known before going to Graduate school?

I guess people should know that going to graduate school does not mean you will be a better candidate for a lot of jobs. The reason I`m doing graduate school is really to learn and also because of my specific career choice which us research and teaching.


Any advice to the people who want to apply for graduate school?

To take responsibility for your own action. Going to graduate school is solely based on my choice and whatever I choose I must own up to it.

That will be the end of this article. We hoped that if any of our readers have any suggestions on what we should write in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page