top of page
  • Writer's pictureAPU Times

Internship for the Ministry of Environment Interview with interns Kazuya and Wei

 

There are many exciting and unique opportunities APU students can experience. One of these experiences is the internship for the Ministry of Environment, where students can get a hands-on learning experience in the Aso-Kuju National Park in Japan. We interviewed two students who have completed this internship. Kazuya Kitazawa is a 6th semester APS student majoring in Environment and Development. He is 22 years old and lives in Tokyo, Japan. Kazuya completed the internship this year. The second interviewee is Kelvianto Shenyoputro from Indonesia, commonly known as Wei. Wei is 27 years old and is currently enrolled in APU’s Doctoral School of Asia Pacific in his first semester. He completed the internship in the first batch back in 2020 as an APS undergrad. Stay on the lookout for the opening of applications for this unique internship. If you are interested in topics related to national parks, conservation, sustainability, or similar subjects, this internship is definitely a one-of-a-kind opportunity to gain valuable and knowledge hands-on experience.

 

What was your motivation for applying for the MoE internship?


Kazuya: My motivation is related to my interest. I’m interested in nature and governmental work related to the conservation of the natural environment. I wanted to do the internship of the Ministry of Environment, so, I attended Professor Jones’ course and Wei-senpai talked about his experience during the internship in Aso-Kuju National Park, and after that I decided to participate in the internship as well.

 

Wei: When the opportunity came, it was really easy for me to decide to apply, because I majored in Environment and Development. And it was the Ministry of Environment, so I didn’t really look at the job description at that time because I thought that, if it is the Ministry of Environment, it is definitely what I want to learn, since it overlaps with what I have been studying at APU.


Can you tell me more about your internship? What were the tasks you had to complete?


Kazuya: I experienced the work which is done by rangers. For example, management of trails and mountain destinations. Because Aso-Kuju National Park is a national park which is famous for trekking, rangers usually do the management of trails. I participated in this by accompanying active rangers. Also, I participated in discussions of rangers. I could learn about the characteristics of communication between rangers and active rangers. For example, in the Aso-Kuju National Park Office, there were about 10 rangers, and each ranger has their own work. For example, some national park rangers have work related to tourism, while other national park rangers have work related to the conservation of grassland. They all have distinctive tasks, so they share information about their work and their tasks. Also, I joined a survey for tourism in Aso-Kuju National Park, where me and employees of the office that had work related to tourism searched characteristics of tourists who visited Aso-Kuju National Park. For example, which accommodation they use, how they come to the park, and where they come from.

 

Wei: In Aso-Kuju National Park there’s two offices since the national park is divided into two parts. There’s Kuju, which is on the Oita side. And then there’s Aso, which is on the Kumamoto side. And I was assigned to the Aso office.

For the first two days of my job, we went up the mountain to do trail maintenance. At the time when I was doing the internship, there had been recent eruptions, so we had to check if all the trails were in good condition after the eruption. So, it was more about the post-recovery process, we checked every trail and made sure that everything was okay. Those were the tasks on the first two days. On the other days, because my research is more focused on waste management, we did recycling and the ministry of environment arranged a session for me to visit a kindergarten and teach that concept to the children. The ministry also tried to accommodate my research interests related to trash cans and “Leave No Trace”, which was really good.


How was the application process? Is there anything future applicants should know, or do you have any tips?


Kazuya: The application process was quite complicated. In summary, we had to prepare two types of insurance. They can be attained in APU COOP. Also, me and other participants joined a meeting beforehand where we could make an exact schedule for the internship. Furthermore, if you want to join an internship, you have to check your emails frequently.

 


In which way was this internship helpful for your studies at APU?


Kazuya: I expect it to help my future career. Currently I’m interested in becoming an active ranger. An active ranger is a kind of assistant to a ranger. And usually, their task is to do management tasks in the national park. Originally, I considered a career as a wildlife photographer. But before being a wildlife photographer, I want to have experience in working for nature conservation. So, the experience of the internship might help my future career.

 

Wei: The internship also really helped with my research related to waste management. When I was doing the internship, I was already in my last semester in APU. My research was almost done, but the internship changed my future path and research. It gave me motivation to continue with the Master’s program. When I went to do the internship, I realized that I always used to have the perception that a national park is always protected. But when I did the internship, I saw that there were a lot of waste issues even in protected areas. I was shocked, because I thought that the waste issue was only a problem in cities in urban and rural areas, but this completely changed my perception towards this issue. So, after the internship I decided that I wanted to do research in national parks, because I’ve seen that there is this issue as well. This is what motivated me to pursue my higher education in APU’s Master’s program. Before completing the internship, I planned on doing job hunting, but the internship completely changed my outlook.

 

How was the overall experience of the internship?


Kazuya: One of the highlights was working with active rangers by managing trails on the mountain. Also, they did preparations for environmental education. The main content for this was the observation of insects. I like insects, so it was really interesting. Additionally, if you ask the rangers directly, you might get beneficial information about how to become a ranger, what the difference between rangers and active rangers is, and how they develop a good relationship with local people.

 

Wei: It was a really good experience, I don’t even only want to say it was good, I think it was amazing. Because first, I got the passion for my future. Another thing is the connections I got, since I could get connections with people in the Ministry of Environment, which has really helped me in my Master’s program as well. So, the experience of the internship was really amazing.

 

Why should students apply for the internship?


Kazuya: In my opinion, the opportunity of getting work experience in national parks is limited in APU. So, if you are interested in an internship for national park ranger, you should ask your senpai, or find a professor who is related to national parks.

Even though, the time of the internship was quite short, since it was only 5 days long, I could still learn a lot of important information, for instance, how do they manage national parks or how do they conserve natural environment with local people and the government.

 

Wei: I think, if you are interested in environment and conservation, you should take this chance, because I think APU is one of the only universities that has this partnership with the Ministry of Environment, so if you go to other universities, you won’t have this opportunity. So, if you are confident in Japanese, I really suggest students to take this chance. And even if they feel like their Japanese is not good, I don’t want this to be the issue that demotivates students. As long as they have the willingness to learn, then they can do it. Because also the people in the ministry are really kind, so they also tried to talk in English with me sometimes. I don’t want the language to become the barrier for future students, so if they have the motivation to learn, they should take this opportunity.


環境省でのインターンシップ

KazuyaさんとWeiさんへのインタビュー

 

APUには学生が体験できる魅力的でユニークな機会が多くあります。環境省でのインターンシップはその1例で、阿蘇くじゅう国立公園にて実践的な体験学習ができます。そのインターンシップを体験した2名の学生にお話を伺いました。きたざわかずやさんはAPS6セメスター目の環境開発を先行している学生です。東京都出身、22歳のきたざわさんは今年インターンシップを修了しました。 2人目はインドネシア出身のKelvianto Shenyoputro(通称Wei)さんです。現在27歳のWeiさんはアジア太平洋研究科後期課程に在籍しており、2020年にAPS学部生としてはじめてそのインターンシップを修了しました。この貴重なインターンシップの募集開始を見逃さないように!国立公園、保全、持続可能性などに関連するトピックに興味がある皆さんなら、実践的な経験を積むことの出来る大変貴重な機会となるでしょう。  


環境省のインターンシップへの応募動機を教えてください。


Kazuya:自分の興味に関連することだったからです。私は自然や自然環境の保全に関する行政の仕事に関心があります。環境省のインターンシップに興味をもってJones先生の講義を受講したところWei先輩の阿蘇くじゅう国立公園での経験談を聞くことが出来、その後インターンシップへの参加を決めました。 

Wei: 環境開発学を専攻していたため、応募を決断するのに悩むことはありませんでした。環境省が主催ということでAPUでの勉強内容と合致し、私が学びたいことだ!と確信したため、当時は業務内容をあまり確認しませんでした。


体験したインターンシップについて教えてください。What were the tasks you had to complete?


Kazuya:登山道や到着地点の管理など、レンジャー(自然保護官)の仕事を体験しました。阿蘇くじゅう公園はトレッキングで有名な国立公園であるため、一般的に登山道の整備はレンジャーによって行われます。私も現役のレンジャーと共に業務やディスカッションに参加しました。

また、レンジャーとアクティブレンジャー(自然保護官とその補佐)同士のコミュニケーションの特徴について学ぶことが出来ました。例えば阿蘇くじゅう国立公園のオフィスには10名のレンジャーがいて、観光に関する仕事を行う人がいれば、草原の保全に関する仕事を行う人もいるように、各々の仕事があります。それぞれに異なる業務があるため、自分の業務内容や関連する情報を共有し合います。さらに阿蘇くじゅう国立公園の観光に関する調査にも参加し、観光関連の業務を担う社員と共に公園を訪れる観光客の特徴(どの宿泊施設を利用するのか、どこからどのように公園へ来たかなど)を調査しました。 

Wei: 阿蘇くじゅう国立公園は大分県側にある”くじゅう”と熊本県側にある阿蘇という主に2つのエリアに分けられるため、事務所も2つあります。私は阿蘇の事務所に配属されました。

最初の2日間は登山道の整備を行うために登山をしました。私がインターンシップに参加した少し前に噴火が起こったので、登山道の状態を確かめる必要がありました。復旧後の過程が重要となるのですべての登山道を確認し、安全であることを確かめました。 また、私は廃棄物管理に焦点をあてて研究しているためリサイクルを行ったり、幼稚園に訪問して子供たちに廃棄物管理に関することを教えるセッションを行ったりしました。そのセッションの開催も含めて、環境省はゴミの回収や“Leave No Trace(リーブノートレイス)” のような、私の研究テーマに関する事に対応して下さり、とても良い経験となりました。



応募方法について教えてください。これから申請する方へのアドバイスはありますか?


Kazuya: 応募申請は非常に複雑でした。主に2種類の保険の準備に手間取りました。APU COOPにて取得することが出来ます。また、インターンシップの正確なスケジュールを確認するために他の参加者と共に事前ミーティングに参加しました。さらに、インターンシップに参加したい場合、メールを頻繁に確認するようにしてください。


 

今回のインターンシップはどのようにAPUでの学びに役立ちましたか?


Kazuya:将来のキャリアに繋がることを期待しています。最近は、アクティブレンジャーになりたいと考えています。アクティブレンジャーとはレンジャーのアシスタントの一種(自然保護官の補佐)で、国立公園を管理 することが主な仕事です。私は元々野生動物の写真家としてのキャリアを考えていましたが、その前に自然保護のために働く経験を積みたいと思っています。なので、インターンシップの経験は将来のキャリアに繋がり得ると思っています。 

Wei: インターンシップは、廃棄物処理に関する私の研究に大いに役立ちました。インターンに参加した時私はすでに学部最後のセメスターだったため、研究は殆ど終わらせていました。しかしインターンシップが将来の進路や研究の変化のきっかけとなり、修士課程に進学する動機ともなりました。インターンシップに行ってみて気づいたことは、自分が”国立公園は常に保護されている”と思い込んでいた事です。実際に業務に携わると、保護区であっても廃棄物の問題がたくさん存在する事に気が付きました。廃棄物問題は都市部や地方の中心だけが抱える問題だと思っていたため衝撃を受け、以前との認識が大きく変わりました。そして、インターンシップ後は都心と同様に廃棄物問題を抱える国立公園で研究をすすめたいと決心しまし、これがAPUの修士課程に進学する動機となりました。参加前はインターンを終えたら就職活動を行う予定でしたが、インターンシップを通して私の考えは大きく変化しました。 


全体的にインターンシップでの経験はいかがでしたか?


Kazuya: 印象に残っている事の1つが、アクティブレンジャーと協力して登山道の整備を行った事です。昆虫の観察を主な内容とする環境教育の準備をも行うことが出来ました。昆虫が好きなので、とても興味深かったです。また、レンジャーと直接話すことで、レンジャーとアクティブレンジャーの違いは何か、地元の人との関係性など、有益な情報を手に入れることが出来るかもしれません。

Wei: 本当に良い経験で、素晴らしいものでした。自分の将来への情熱となりましたし、環境省の人との人脈が出来たため修士課程でもとても訳にたっています。このインターンシップに参加して良かったと、心から思っています。 




なぜ学生にこのインターンシップをオススメするのですか?


Kazuya: APUでは、国立公園で働く機会が限られています。そのため、国立公園のレンジャーとしてのインターンシップに興味がある場合、先輩や国立公園に関連する教授を探す必要があります。

5日間という短い期間でしたが、国立公園の運営や自然環境の保全など、地域の人々や行政との関わりを通して多くの大切なことを学ぶことが出来ました。 

Wei: APUは環境省とパートナーシップを結ぶ数少ない大学だと思います。他の大学に行ってもなかなか無い機会ですので、環境や保全に興味のある方は、この機会を逃さないようにしましょう。日本語に自信のある方は是非チャレンジしてみてください。また、日本語が苦手であっても学ぶ意欲さえあれば大丈夫です。環境省の方々は本当に親切で、時々英語で話そうとしてくれました。これから参加する皆さんにとって言語の問題のためにこの機会を諦めて欲しくありません。学ぶ意欲があるのなら、この機会に是非参加してほしいと思っています。

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TEDxAPU 2024: Speak Through The Constellations

Written by: Oorvi Abhaya Sitanggang Edited by: Rachel Emmanuella Marlinang Kicking off the new year, the TEDxAPU student circle has made for a memorable day for APU students by hosting their first TED

Why Yoga Will Make Your College Life Better

Written by: Alisha Dihyan Ramaniya Hartadi Edited by: Abid Aziz In an age where productivity and capitalist development is the number one indicator of a good and successful life, time moves faster and

bottom of page